Cooking Together

So I’m adventuring into cooking again. It seems that creating is the key… whether cooking, writing, or making cosmetics; I’m happiest when I’m creative. And tonight I got to do that with my daughter, how cool is that? Tonight we made lasagna (which, while it sounds simple, this working mom hasn’t made lasagna in about a year). Although a few years ago, when she was a baby the lasagna had homemade sauce as well, I’m cooking with baby steps; after all, I am still working two jobs & being the full time single mommy. So, excuses aside– it’s time to cook! Here’s the recipe I improvised tonight:

“Lasagna With Hidden Veggies”

Ingredients:

3 cups fresh organic baby spinach (trying using the ‘baby’ variety because it’s less bitter & organic because spinach is a high pesticide product when bought conventionally & fresh because it contains the highest quantity of vitamins & nutrients)

1 lb part skim ricotta cheese (part skim because mama’s gaining weight, haha)

8 oz shredded mozzarella cheese (reserve a little for topping the lasagna)

1 jar tomato marinara sauce

1 egg

1 box lasagna noodles

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

(Protein option for us carnivores: 1 lb beef or turkey. Vegetarian: 1 block of tofu)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. For us meat eaters, brown the meat in a skillet on the stove; drain grease into empty jar to discard safely (did you know that kitchen grease down your drain clogs your drain & puts dangerous oil particles into our water system?) & set aside.

3. Blend spinach with tomato sauce.

4. Mix cooked meat into the tomato/spinach sauce.

5. In a separate bowl, mix together: 1 egg, parmesan cheese, ricotta cheese, & shredded mozzarella. (If you’re using the tofu meatless option, mix the tofu into this mixture for color coordination.)

6. Layer lasagna: First put lasagna noodles in bottom of pan. Then put the cheese mixture on top. Then put the sauce mixture on top of that. Then the noodles again, etc until the pan is filled. Ideally the last layer is sauce & sprinkle with remaining shredded mozzarella)

7. Place in preheated oven for 45 minutes. Let stand 5-10 minutes before cutting into & serving. Enjoy!!

Let me know how it turned out! Were your kids or hubbie surprised or oblivious to the veggies? (that’s what I was after!) 

3 thoughts on “Cooking Together

    • Oh definitely, I can’t believe she ate her whole plate of lasagna too! MY daughter, THE pickiest eater in the world. I heard once that kids are more likely to try something if they had a hand in cooking it; well after last night I’m sure to have her help me with every new recipe 😉

      • Fantastic!! I love that!! I did that too with both of my kids and today they LOVE all kinds of food 🙂 It takes a bit longer and yes it is more messy, but such great education and precious time spend together!!

Leave a Reply

